BackwardVirtual Stamp CollectionForward


French Southern and Antarctic Territories

Shades of Bird Definitives of 1956 and 1959

The French Southern and Antarctic Territories consist of the Kerguelen Archipelago, St. Paul, Amsterdam and Crozet Islands and Adelle Land in Antarctica. They were dependencies of Madagascar until August 6, 1955 when, despite their miniscule population, they received territorial status. According to Scott, the first stamp for the territories (an overprinted definitive from Madagascar) was issued on October 28, 1955. Rossiter and Flower indicate that the date of issue was November 2, 1955. Before this stamp was issued, Kerguelen Island had used French stamps from 1906-1926 and stamps of Madagascar starting around 1948. The territories are administered from Reunion.

Shades of Rockhopper Penguin Definitive
Rockhopper Penguin Definitive issued April 25, 1956

Shades of Light-mantled Sooty Albatross Definitive
Light-mantled Sooty Albatross Definitive issued September 14, 1959


"French Southern and Antarctic Territories." Standard Postage Stamp Catalogue. 2005.

Rossiter, Stuart and John Flower. The Stamp Atlas. London: Macdonald, 1986.

Direct comments, questions and corrections to:


Virtual Stamp Collection Index


© Grose Educational Media, 2007-2018