BackwardVirtual Stamp CollectionForward

Ionian Islands
Italian Occupation
General Issue of 1941

Italian Occupation General Issue
Italian definitive designs of 1929 were overprinted for used on the occupied islands.

The islands of Corfu, Paxos, Lefkas, Cephalonia, Ithaca, Zante and Cerigo are located in the Ionian and Mediterranean seas west and south of Greece. Their first stamps were issued in 1859 during the latter part of a period of British control which extended from 1815 to 1864 when, at the request of the inhabitants, control was transferred to Greece. The islands were occupied by Italian forces in 1941 and overprinted Greek and Italian stamps were used during this period. Corfu also had its own stamps issued. In 1943 the Italians withdrew and the islands were occupied by German forces. Greek stamps were used during the German occupation except on the island of Zante where overprinted stamps were used.


"Ionian Islands." Standard Postage Stamp Catalogue. 2005.

Direct comments, questions and corrections to:


Virtual Stamp Collection Index


© Grose Educational Media, 2015